Students earn academic honors

The Advanced Placement Scholar program was developed to recognize students who have earned excellent scores on their Advanced Placement exams. The awards are divided into several different levels: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with honors, AP Scholar with distinction, and National AP Scholar. This year, Bettendorf honors 68 students with Advanced Placement awards.

Graduate Joseph Frommelt is the only Bettendorf student to achieve the level of National AP Scholar. To be a National AP Scholar, a student must receive an average score of 4 on all AP exams taken and a score of 4 or higher on eight of more of these exams.

Two current seniors, Andrew Del Vecchio and Roger Wittmer, were awarded AP Scholars with distinction. These students achieve an average score of 3.5 on all exams taken and a score of 3 or higher on five or more AP exams.

The following students were awarded AP Scholar with honors: Emma Aanestad, Lilli Ambort, Samantha Biermann, Trinity Borland, Adam Edwards, Holly Harrington, Maxwell Herrmann, Keven Lin, Shannon Micklewright, Joseph Parker, Jillian Schenck, Lita Solbrig, Joshua Turner, and Austin Wang. This is awarded to students who earn an average score of 3.25 on all exams taken and a score of 3 or higher on four or more exams.

The last group of students were named AP Scholars: Hazel Ambort, Caroline Baer, Peter Bauer, Mason Chin, Jacob Corzette, Leticia Francisco, Zachary Silver, Yash Singh, Luke Soko, Gabriel Stevens, Emily Tyra, Lucas Whitesides, Mizuki Wittmer. AP Scholars earn scores of 3 or higher on three exams.

Josh Turner was also recognized as a commended scholar by the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program. The mission of the program is to recognize academically talented students and reward them with scholarships.

To qualify for this program, students take the preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) known as the PSAT/NMSQT. Approximately 34,000 of 50,000 students are selected as commended scholars each September. For more information, visit the National Merit Scholarship website here.


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • email logo